{Copy-Cat} Olive Garden Chicken Alfredo Pizza

Alfredo sauce is definitely on my list of pure yumminess.  Whenever I go to an Italian restaurant I always try something with that nectar of the heavens. I do not know what it is, but Olive Garden’s alfredo cannot be beat. Until now! Enter my copycat version of their scrumptious chicken alfredo pizza. If you know me personally, chicken is my favorite food. Of all-time. No joke. I love that it can be cooked so many different ways and be delicious each time. In my recipe, we sauté chicken with a little olive oil in a skillet, and cut it into strips to go on top of a glorious pizza. Some recipes call for a whole stick of butter in their alfredo sauce. Have no fear friends. I have experimented, and found you do not need to use tons of butter and heavy cream to get a delectable sauce. If you are craving pizza and alfredo sauce, you have come to the right place.  I love finding copycat recipes that are actually better then what they claim to copy. I think you will agree, that my pizza totally accomplishes that!

Who needs Olive Garden when you can make this pizza yourself?!

Who needs Olive Garden when you can make this pizza yourself?!

Ingredients

Alfredo Sauce-

1 pint half and half

2 tablespoons cream cheese, softened

2 tablespoons butter, softened

1-2 teaspoons kosher salt (I add 1 at first and later taste to see if needs more)

1 teaspoon garlic powder

½ cup grated parmesan cheese

2+ minced garlic cloves (add as much as you want, but use at least 2)

Freshly ground pepper (a few twists will do it)

Pizza-

Your favorite pizza dough

½ lb to 1 lb cooked chicken tenderloins sliced into thin strips

4 oz sliced mushrooms

2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese

3-5 scallions green parts only, chopped

Method

1.     Prepare your pizza dough of choice and preheat oven to dough directions.

2.     Cook chicken. I sautéed mine in EVOO on medium heat about 4 minutes a side. I seasoned with salt, pepper, and a touch of garlic powder. After the chicken is cooked, let rest on a plate lined with paper towel.

3.     While the chicken cools make alfredo sauce.  In a medium pot or large saucepan whisk the butter, cream cheese, and half and half over medium heat until all is blended.  Add the seasonings, garlic, and parmesan cheese. Simmer for 15 minutes on low, stirring every so often.

4.     While the sauce cooks, cut chicken into thin strips. Prepare the toppings. Slice mushrooms and green onions.

5.     Before putting the alfredo sauce on the pizza dough, do a little taste test and add more salt if needed. Add sauce to dough. This makes enough sauce for 1 large pizza with a little leftover, or 2 medium pizzas with a bit leftover. Feel free to use leftovers for dipping pizza later!

6.     After sauce is on pizza, add chicken strips, mushrooms, half of the green onions, and cheese. Sprinkle the other half of the green onions on top of the pizza. Bake in preheated oven.

7.     When finished cooking let pizza cool for 5-10 minutes before cutting. This insures the cheese will set up a bit on the pizza, making it easier to cut into slices.  Enjoy!

Notes*

-You can use a rotisserie chicken if you are pressed for time. Just pick off meat and cut into smaller pieces.

-For a tastier crust add a sprinkle of garlic powder or Italian seasoning before baking.  I like to pre-bake my dough before I add the toppings for 2 minutes.

-If you need to soften your butter and cream cheese quickly, heat in microwave for 10 seconds at a time.

-These make great leftovers for the next day’s lunch, just store in fridge and heat in microwave when ready to eat.

Get in my belly!

Get in my belly!

2 thoughts on “{Copy-Cat} Olive Garden Chicken Alfredo Pizza

Leave a Reply

