Chicken Enchilada Puffs

I have deep love for Pinterest. A few weeks ago, a lot of my friends were pinning the pin on how to make your own enchilada sauce. Color me intrigued!  Just then I had a lightbulb moment. “Why don’t I make this sauce, do a variation of my chicken crescent puffs, and use the sauce inside and out?” Sounds like a good idea to me! I need to post my original chicken crescent puff recipe, but for today it is all about the chicken enchilada variation. If you are not familiar, magic happens when you stuff chicken and cream cheese into a crescent roll and bake it. There are many different methods on how to make these puffs of goodness. My Mom would make them for us growing up; I made a couple of tweaks and made them my own. I thought making a Mexican version would be fun and not to mention delicious. I cannot believe I never made my own enchilada sauce before it was SO EASY! I am always down for homemade anything and this sauce was delicious!  This recipe makes for great leftovers as well, so you have a no-brainer lunch for the next day. Please excuse my first few pics, I made the puffs after work and it was evening time, so I just took them in my yellow-lit kitchen.  Enjoy lovelies!

chicken en. puff

Ingredients for Sauce:

3 cups organic low sodium vegetable broth (I used chicken broth)

¼ cup tomato paste

¼ cup all purpose flour

2 tablespoons olive oil

2 teaspoons cumin

¼ teaspoon garlic powder

¼ teaspoon onion powder

¼ teaspoon chili powder

Salt and pepper

Optional: cayenne pepper, ground chipotle, paprika, etc. (I used a sprinkle of cayenne pepper flakes, yum!)

Method:

1. In a small bowl, combine flour, cumin, garlic powder, onion powder, and chili powder.
2. In a medium saucepan, heat olive oil over medium heat. Add tomato paste, and the bowl of flour and spices.
3. Cook 1 minute, whisking continuously.
4. Whisk in broth, increase heat, and bring to a light boil. Reduce to simmer. Cook about 8 minutes or until slightly thickened, whisking occasionally.
5. Salt/pepper to taste.

Ingredients for Puffs:

1 package of Pillsbury Grand Big and Flaky crescent rolls 8 count

3 cooked chicken breasts or 5-6 chicken tenderloin pieces, cubed

1 8 ounce package of 1/3 fat cream cheese, softened

½ cup enchilada sauce, cooled

1-2 bunches of green onions (green and white parts) sliced

Salt and pepper, dash of onion and garlic powders

Grated cheddar cheese

Additional enchilada sauce to top puffs

Toppings (sour cream, green onions, olives, tomatoes, etc).

Method:

1. Unroll package of rolls. Preheat oven to package directions. On a cutting board place one roll in front of you, scoop a good-sized spoonful of chicken mixture onto the larger side of roll.

chick puff

2. Take the thin side of the crescent and fold over the topping.

chick puff 3

3.Now take the left and  right sides of the roll and fold on top the thin piece of roll.

chick puff 4

4. Take the thin piece of dough and wrap around the underside of the puff. I take the puff in my hand and try to close up anywhere filling might be sticking out by pinching the dough together, and lightly “mush” or form into a ball shape.

chicken en puff close up before

5. Arrange on a large baking sheet and grate some cheddar cheese on top.

chick en puff before shot

6. Bake in oven according to package instructions. You want the bottoms of the puffs to be golden brown and the cheese on top to melted and light brown.

chick en puff out of oven

7. Top with more heated enchilada sauce, sour cream, green onions, cheese, etc. any toppings you wish. Devour!

Notes*

-You can definitely use a rotisserie chicken for this, just take off skin and pull off meat and cut into bite sized pieces.

-There usually is one puff that is bursting with mixture. I try to ration out 8 spoonfuls worth of the mixture so don’t worry, there is no exact measurement.

-You may have extra enchilada sauce afterword, use on top of chicken and rice, dipping sauce for nachos or tacos, anything your little hart desires!

chicken en puf close up

Recipe Source for Enchilada Sauce: The Garden Grazer 

Puff Recipe: Alexandra Cooper from All-in-Good-Taste

Leave a Reply

