Zuppa Toscana

Well hello there wonderful people! I could take the time to bore you with the reasons why I have not posted in a while, but I believe deep down no one gives a real hoot. Now that we are up to speed, welcome back to my blog. Thanksgiving has come and gone and now we are in full holiday cheer mode, which is my favorite! Before I share what I have planned for this festive time of year, I thought I would share, nay, plead with you all to make this recipe happen in your lives soon. Like today or this week soon. This soup is a favorite for many at that “Italian” restaurant but this recipe completes me. I kid you not, Chris and I love this soup so much, we do not even refer to it by it’s given name, but instead we call it, “the soup.” It is that amazing. Trust me on this one folks. How this certain recipe came into my hands goes back to when I was in college. My lovely European roommate, Lejdja found it and made it for us, and ever since it has been my go to recipe for making this delightful soup. So what are you waiting for? It’s prime cold weather season now, so soup making is an absolute must. Enjoy!

zuppa toscana

Ingredients:

1 pound Spicy Italian Sausage- crumbled
1 quart of water
(2) 14.5 ounce cans Chicken Broth
(2) large Russet Potatoes- cubed
2 Garlic Cloves- crushed (I usually add more!)
1 medium Onion- chopped
2 cups Chopped Kale or Swiss Chard (I always use kale)
1 cup Heavy Cream (I either use half and half or a mixture of cream and half and half, whatever you prefer)
Salt, garlic powder, and pepper to taste
Optional:
Croutons, Red pepper flakes, and grated Parmesan to top soup…DO IT!)

Method:
1. In a skillet over medium-high heat, brown sausage, breaking into small pieces as you cook it. Drain and set aside. As I drain the meat I rinse it off with super hot water in a colander to get all that nasty grease off completely. If you don’t when you add the cream all the grease comes to top, which is not pretty.
2. Place water, broth, potatoes, garlic, a little garlic powder, and onion into a pot. Simmer over high heat until potatoes are tender about 10 minutes.
3. Add the cooked sausage to the pot simmer 5-10 minutes.
4. Add kale and cream to the pot, season with salt and pepper; heat through.
5. Optional: top soup with crushed red pepper flakes, cheese, and croutons. Fight off family members for 2nds. Hehe.

Zuppa-Toscana nice pic

Slightly adapted from: wikibooks.com

Leave a Reply

