Breakfast Drink from Dr. Oz’s 3 Day Cleanse

Have you ever done a cleanse? My husband and I did one last year for 21 days. We could eat lean proteins, certain fruits and veggies, and eggs. We could not eat any sugar, dairy, flour, grains, or nuts/seeds. It was hard but we were so proud of ourselves! We also found that Chris had a slight intolerance to dairy, so now he only uses soy or almond milk in his cereal. Anyway point is cleanses are a way to cleanse our bodies from all the toxins we acquire from the foods we eat. The outcome is like a clean slate for the body, if you will. It also was a HUGE eye-opener as to all of the chemicals and crap we eat on a daily basis! Enter my recipe for today. If you are even slightly interested in doing a cleanse or have never done one and want to, I suggest trying this one from Dr. Oz. It is only three days and is a great way to “reset” one’s system. My favorite meal on the three-day plan was the breakfast drink.  Even if you are not interested in doing the whole cleanse, this beverage makes a great breakfast or snack! Enjoy!

Smoothie goodness

Smoothie goodness

Ingredients:

1 cup cold water

1 tablespoon ground flax seed

1 cup of raspberries

1 banana

¼ cup of spinach

1 tablespoon almond butter

2 teaspoons lemon juice

Drink Ingredients

Drink Ingredients

Method:

 Blend all ingredients together in blender, and gulp down! I recommend using a fun straw.

Notes*

– Please for the love of all good things, use extra cold water. Trust me on this one!

– I got my ground flax seed at a year round farmer’s market. I’m sure you could find at the natural and health food row at the grocery store, or places like Whole Foods. If not, buy some flax seeds and pulse them with a blender or food processor.  If all else fails toss seeds in whole and blend them with the other ingredients.

– For the lemon juice, do yourself a favor and use fresh. My trick to get the juices flowing is rolling the lemon on a hard surface for a few seconds before slicing. I also found 2 slices equaled about 2 teaspoons of juice.

Recipe Source: Dr. Oz, www.doctoroz.com 

Dr. Oz's Breakfast Drink

Dr. Oz’s Breakfast Drink

One thought on “Breakfast Drink from Dr. Oz’s 3 Day Cleanse

  1. Pingback: 21 Day Cleanse - Final Results - Cascade Chiropractic and Wellness

Leave a comment